How to Cook Japanese Knotweed: A Szechuan Pork Stir-fry

Japanese Knotweed shoots can be cooked and eaten in many ways similar to rhubarb and asparagus.  The tart flavor is not as intense and more citric or lemony than rhubarb. The shoots can be easily peeled to remove the more fibrous outer layer or not. A post shared from another blog:

 

Kitchen Princess

Japanese knotweed stir-fry

The hipsters at Brooklyn Kitchen are NOT impressed with Japanese knotweed. It’s an invasive species! A pest! The sign says BEWARE! Still they feel the need to charge me $12.99 per pound but so it goes. A cute hipster guy in glasses behind me in line asked what it was and the cute hipster guy in glasses who was ringing me up said “It’s Japanese knotweed, it’s an invasive species.” Okay we get it.

Japanese knotweed at Brooklyn Kitchen

I asked how I should cook it and he told me to fry it with a little garlic. Usually I don’t trust attractive hipster men in glasses but I decided to take a chance and fry it with a little garlic. Turns out he was right! It’s delicious and to me tasted nothing like rhubarb as the sign had warned. I sautéed it with a little olive oil, garlic and lemon and it was stunningly delicious. Like…

View original post 343 more words

Leave a Reply

